2020_Archive (Serie)

Das „2020_Archives (Series)“ ist ein Kunstwerk, das soziale, politische und wirtschaftliche Ereignisse in New Orleans, Louisiana, USA, und Leipzig, Deutschland, im Jahr 2020 dokumentiert. Einige der Fotografien habe ich während meines Besuchs in New aufgenommen Orleans zu Beginn der Corona-Pandemie in den USA. Andere Fotos habe ich dagegen bei meiner Ankunft in Leipzig gemacht.

Als gebürtige New Orleanserin nahm ich mir die Zeit, um zu fotografieren, wie die Pandemie begann, bestimmte Menschen und Unternehmen zu betreffen, als ich mich durch die Stadt wagte. Zurück in Deutschland habe ich in Leipzig die gesellschaftliche Reaktion auf die Coronavirus-Pandemie dokumentiert. Zufällig reagierten die meisten Menschen auf die politische Ungerechtigkeit in den Vereinigten Staaten als Reaktion auf die Ermordung von George Floyd. Bei meiner Ankunft begann ich, eine massive Black Lives Matter-Demonstration in der Leipziger Innenstadt mitzuerleben und zu fotografieren.

Je mehr ich diese Ereignisse fotografierte, desto mehr begann ich, über die Reaktion auf diese politischen und gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen nachzudenken. Und als Afroamerikaner bin ich sowohl von der Coronavirus-Pandemie als auch von der Brutalität der Polizei zutiefst betroffen. Folglich begann ich, Selbstporträts zu erstellen, die meine öffentliche Identität darstellen.  

Dieses Projekt wurde gefördert von  

image001_edited.jpg
image002.jpg

2020_Archives (Series)

The “2020_Archives (Series)” is a body of art that documents social, political, and economic events that have occurred throughout New Orleans, Louisiana, USA, and Leipzig, Germany in the year 2020. Some of the photographs were taken during my visit to New Orleans at the start of the corona pandemic in the United States, while other photographs were taken upon my arrival back in Leipzig.

As a native from New Orleans, I took the time to photograph how the pandemic started to affect certain people and businesses as I ventured throughout the city. Once I arrived back in Germany, I continued to document the social response to the coronavirus pandemic in Leipzig. Coincidentally, most of the people started to react to the political injustice that was happening in the United States in response to the killing of George Floyd. Upon my arrival, I began to witness and photograph a massive Black Lives Matter demonstration in the city center of Leipzig.

The more I continued to photograph these events, the more I started to self-reflect on how I was responding to these political and social changes. And as an African-American man, I’m deeply affected by both the coronavirus pandemic and police brutality. Consequently, I started to create self-portraits that depict my public-identity. 

The "2020_Archives (Series)" was generously funded by the "Denkzeit" Stiftung provided by Kulturstiftung des Freistaates

Sachsen. For more info about this program please visit:

https://www.industriekultur-in-sachsen.de/